Welcome to De-Commissioned, a place for former members of the Great Commission movement (aka GCM, GCC, GCAC, GCI, the Blitz) to discuss problems they've experienced in the association's practices and theology.

You may read and post, but some features are restricted to registered members. Please consider registering to gain full access! Registration is free and only takes a few moments to complete.
De-Commissioned Forum
April 19, 2024, 12:48:12 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Forum   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hi Everyone. <3  (Read 13195 times)
XianJaneway
Obscure Poster (1-14 Posts)

« on: June 29, 2017, 08:29:25 pm »

My name is XianJaneway, and I've been a part of this forum before, but can't remember my password, lol.

I was a part of a student ministry, and my husband and I were both involved. Yet, when we moved to a "grown up" GCM church, we felt like outsiders. We were continually exhausted. We were tied up with heavy burdens...but, it felt like everyone else who attended was too, so we didn't question it. We thought it was normal.

I've been doing spiritual abuse recovery ministry on Twitter (@XianJaneway) for three years now, and have a small blog, but I wanted to come back here after someone from my old GCM church contacted me today. Sad

She's just now realizing that it is a cult. She's dealing with the deadly intersection of spiritual abuse, sexual abuse, domestic violence, and mental illness. I've had a chance to find online communities that deal with ALL of these things, in the IFB/ICC/Evangelical/GCM/TGC/SGM and basically any other high control religious group.

I'm so thankful that you've accumulated these resources here. I'm too tired to think any more, but I hope to come back and give a more complete explanation. <3

Linda
Household Name (300+ Posts)

« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2017, 06:04:45 am »