Welcome to De-Commissioned, a place for former members of the Great Commission movement (aka GCM, GCC, GCAC, GCI, the Blitz) to discuss problems they've experienced in the association's practices and theology.

You may read and post, but some features are restricted to registered members. Please consider registering to gain full access! Registration is free and only takes a few moments to complete.
De-Commissioned Forum
April 16, 2024, 11:29:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Forum   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Naming Abusers  (Read 6601 times)
Wingless_Butterfly
Regular (15-99 Posts)

« on: November 30, 2018, 11:44:04 pm »

I've been coming on to this forum for a few months now and have been inclined, on more than one occasion, to write a full account of my GCC experience. The trouble is that I can never get further than a few lines, and even what I do write is usually incredibly vague.

Is it a symptom of abuse to not want to name my abusers or the abuse they've committed? Why are we so privvy to be secretive about these things?
Cult Proof
Regular (15-99 Posts)

« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2018, 03:26:47 am »

I don’t know the answer to your question but I do know that not being able to formulate words can be associated with ptsd.  I’ve been taught by my counselor that I’ll know I am healing the more I am able to articulate my story, in story form.  Trauma leaves us in a state of fragmented thoughts, healing takes those thoughts and writes a story. For me finding my voice is a journey and the more I find it the more whole I feel, but it’s taken me time and I haven’t been able to force it or rush it (even though I want to).  I do know that finding our voice is an important part of our healing.
Cult Proof
Regular (15-99 Posts)

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2018, 05:47:53 am »